Weekly Grocery Snapshot & The Meals That Were

I’ve been uploading pictures of my weekly groceries  to show what I eat to control/manage my PCOS and be healthy in general. I wanted to take that a step further and show what I do with my groceries. I’m a huge fan and avid follower of food bloggers and this seems like a great way to show my new found love for cooking and experimenting with healthy foods.

Groc week 3

Groceries this week were divided between trips from food4less (Kroger) and Target, affordable but great varieties.

Kroger food list: Bok Choy, spinach, romaine lettuce, cilantro, broccoli, mushrooms, bell peppers, big bag of grapes, bananas, apples, blackberries, eggs, frozen okra, the biggest container of oatmeal, pinto beans, and black beans.

Target: Horizon Milk, sugar snaps, endadme, kashi cookies, rye bread, orzo, mozzarella cheese, and a systema fruit container.

Naturebox: My new subscription for Naturebox came in as well! They provide healthy delicious snacks that I don’t feel guilty about and the best part is that I can customize my box to have the treat I want. My favorite snack for this box was the whole wheat raspberry fig bars. Actual figs and divine tasting; I have two picked out for my next box already!

Click on NatureBox Sign-up through this link and put in SHARE10 to get $10 off (thats 50% off!). Each box contains 5 full sized snack packages and is delivered every month.

Meals that were made this week to take to work : 

Baby Bok Choy Stir-fry: 

boy choy

This amazing dish was dinner and the leftovers lunch at work. It’s a plethora of vegetables that are high in vitamins and minerals, part of the cabbage family, this vegetable contains only 13 calories for 100 grams. It also contains 149% of the daily Vitamin A recommendation.

My stirfry was a simple concoction, I put in some red onion, red and green bell peppers, lima beans, corn, mushrooms, Bok Choy and added some seasoning.

Mix Salad with Grapes: 

salad

This powerhouse salad was a mix of kale, arugula, romaine lettuce, broccoli, carrots, green peppers, and grapes. Topped with a raspberry vinaigrette by Annie’s.

Grilled Mozzarella Sandwich 

grilled

Grilled mozzarella cheese with a slice or two of tomatoes and fresh basil leaves. It’s better than any store-bought grilled cheese sandwich I’ve ever had. I made this to take to work and just heated it for 30 seconds in the microwave and voila!

Really want to spice it up? Add some home made avocado pesto.

Not pictured lunch/dinner: 

Sauteed Spinach Spread – sauteed until wilted with some onion and garlic and spread on toast.

PB&J with banana and a side of apple 

Omelet – 2 egg omelet with onion, green pepper, cilantro, and salt and pepper.

One thought on “Weekly Grocery Snapshot & The Meals That Were

Leave a Reply

