The Addiction Swap – One Sweet to Another

I have a major sweet tooth. Chocolate, cheesecake, cookies, cakes, pastries, donuts… well you get the idea. I see it and I want it with such a passion, its hard to look away much less walk away.

I’m like Remy from Ratatouille following the smell of food.

remy

I still have treats once in a while and try to control my portions. To satisfy the craving and not jump in my car or head to the closest vending machine I’ve found a sweet substitute. Fruit.

I have a shelf in my fridge and big bowl on my table dedicated to fruit. I have fruit after every meal, as a snack, or as a light meal when working nights.

image

See, fruit all the time. I’ve been enjoying berry session and I’m already starting to mourn the loss of summer because these won’t be around.  Fortunately I’ve thought ahead and started freezing them for the hibernation months in Chicago.

I’ve basically switched my obsession/ addiction for processed yummy sweets for healthy clean sweets…. mostly. As I mentioned earlier I still enjoy sweets once in a while, it keeps me happy and I tend to not feel deprived every time I see them.  I’m immensely happy when I’m able to walk away from a box of donuts or cookies at the nurses station. Once in a while I’ll treat myself with something I really want and do it without guilt (mostly). Moderation is key in those instances.

What’s your food addiction or weakness?

Leave a Reply

